Resolving to do stuff in 2017

It’s that time of year again! It’s the time where everyone convinces themselves that when the clock strikes 12, they can become a less shitty version of themselves. And as I’m a sucker for new starts (and also becoming a less shitty person), here are my resolutions for 2017:

FIND A NEW JOB

giphy

The contract for my current job runs out at the end of May so I need to get my shit together and start hunting for another job. This process would be a LOT easier if I knew what I wanted to do with my life. I had high hopes that when I turned 25 everything would suddenly click into place and I would discover my ambition in my life. Alas no, my dream job still involves not really doing anything except being flown to exotic locations, lying down a lot and drinking beer. Is anyone hiring…?

TRAVEL MORE

11392782_10153367165888564_3257536805018040128_n

Yes, yes. I know this is on everyone and their mother’s resolution list but I really feel like I can make this happen this year (unless I am unemployed after May). We are travelling to Venice in March and we’re in the midst of planning a holiday in June and a short break in September. And technically I travel to work every day and therefore I will have nailed this resolution by the 3rd January.

TAKE A PHOTO EVERY SINGLE DAY FOR A YEAR

giphy-3

This is something that I’ve always tried to do but I always forget until the 10th January and then I figure that I might as well not do it. This year I am determined to do it – mostly because I got a fancy new camera for my birthday and I want to get my money’s worth. I don’t know how interesting a photo of day of my life will be; I anticipate that there will be a lot of photos of me reclining in various positions at either work or home spooning my laptop.

GIVE FEWER FUCKS

lcmongaf_diagrams_flowchart

My sister gave me a copy of The Life Changing Magic of Not Giving a F**k for Christmas as well as a stern instruction to “read this and learn how to calm the fuck down”. Which is a shame because I’d thought that I’d nailed the whole calm, cool and collected on the outside thing while actually being a writhing mass of panic and anxiety on the inside. It appears that my internalised stress is beginning to spill out into my day-to-day life. I asked my friend the other day whether she thought I was a relaxed person and she laughed so hard that she got the hiccups.

So clearly I need to do something for my high stress levels, if only for the sake of my blood pressure. I’m quite enjoying reading The Life Changing Magic of Not Giving a F**k; it’s my kind of self-help book because it’s very sweary and straight to the point. So hopefully 2016 will be the year that I give less fucks… or I will at least try to give less fucks; it’s hard to break the habit of a lifetime.

PASS MY DRIVING TEST

giphy-4

Because if I put it off any longer, I will never take it.

Leave a Reply

